Avi now writes for Driss-A-Blog
2002-12-06, 12:51 AM:

And the 50 Philips discs? Supposed to ship in 48 hours. Ordered two weeks ago. I have blanks now; I'm trying to cancel my order.

I'm had more success ordering from no-name places online than the major names.

2002-12-06, 12:45 AM:

I finally went out and got some new CD-Rs. A spindle of 100 Taiyo Yudens. On a lark, I burned one as a VCD, and, lo and behold, the GoVideo reads it!

Well, kinda. It starts breaking up in the middle. Maybe it's a bad burn. Time to burn more discs. Again.

But it's a bit of progress, I guess.

2002-12-05, 12:15 PM:

Police: Woman kidnapped near Chicago, released in Detroit

Hello? Hellloooo?

The story in brief in case that link goes dead: A Chicago woman was forced at gunpoint into the trunk of her car, and was driven to Detroit. She was forced to walk down the streets of Detroit until a bank guard noticed her and called the cops.

All fine and dandy. Except for one thing:

She had a cellphone. Hell, she even used it to call her grandmother in Illinois.

If you've been forced at gunpoint into your trunk, and you have a cellphone, shouldn't you be calling the cops? You can describe your own car, you can tell them where you were abducted, and within two minutes you can have the whole city's police force looking for you.

Either this woman is monumentally stupid, or something else is wrong here.

2002-12-05, 11:10 AM:

Yay! DragIn and CopyTools Officially Shipped. (Made it to several news sources like macnn.com too.) It doesn't make much of an actual difference, though. Our two beta sites have been using it for a while now, and we're booked out for new installations well into the new year. But it's always good to ship.

Avi's Journal

Newest Entry

Older Entries

My Website
About Me
Email Me

powered by
DiaryLand

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my journal!
email:


powered by NotifyList.com
< prev next >

·   2002-12-16: A Unicode problem   ·   2002-12-15: Soul affliction   ·   2002-12-15: No power?   ·   2002-12-13: Camera's ready   ·   2002-12-12: Grr...   �