Avi now writes for Driss-A-Blog
2001-07-02, 9:22 AM:

MacHack was fun! I met this kid named Nicholas Riley, and we collaborated on this wacky thing we called Bob. Well, we needed a name and we couldn't come up with one, so we ended up with libBob.dylib and InitBob(). Eventually Shawn Platkus, who was also there, came up with AquaShade, which is a pretty cool name. It's still called libBob.dylib, though. We entered it in the contest and came in second to Mac and his hack, Apple Turnover. But I'm quite happy. Nicholas is hacking AquaShade some more; I have yet to look at his code. But based on what he's been emailing me, it's getting slicker and more sick.

So, I'm driving to work this morning, and I'm doing the usual radio station shuffle. Q95 is playing its usual junk, and so I changed to 96.3. That used to be alternative, but then it changed to "hits from the 80s, 90s, and today". (Of course, that's because no one knows how to refer to this decade. The aughts?) But now it's something they're calling "96.3 DVD" (call letters WDVD), with the slogan "today's best variety". I don't get it. If I wanted the garbage that's passing as music today, there are other stations. I want to give them the benefit of the doubt, and try to listen to them, but every time I hear "DVD" I cringe. A DVD is a 5 inch disc containing video and/or sound. Not a radio station!

I bounced around the channels, and hit the "1" button. That's 105.1. I miss the days when it was WQRS. Now it's "Groove 105.1", and I actually like it. Except that they were playing Shania Twain. Ugh. Then Jim Harper comes on (wasn't he on some easy-listening radio station?). Then they play The Temptations' "Just My Imagination". Wow. I'll have to give them another chance.

And I rewired my internet connection this weekend. Ari brought home a PC from school and wanted an internet connection. So we brought the DSL modem back into the breakfast room, ran an ethernet cable to the computer room for the 7100, dropped the AirPort base station on the hub, and ran a cable to the PC. Now everyone's happy. Especially me. My TiBook's AirPort reception is absolutely pathetic. But now with the base station in such an open area I get reception about how much I used to. Much better.

Avi's Journal

Newest Entry

Older Entries

My Website
About Me
Email Me

powered by
DiaryLand

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my journal!
email:


powered by NotifyList.com
< prev next >

·   2002-12-16: A Unicode problem   ·   2002-12-15: Soul affliction   ·   2002-12-15: No power?   ·   2002-12-13: Camera's ready   ·   2002-12-12: Grr...   �