Avi now writes for Driss-A-Blog
2000-11-01, 4:41 PM:

Yesterday, I gave Mrs. R a call. She presented me, and now it's just a situation of sitting back and waiting. Oh, how I love that.

Meanwhile, I know now that the Adobe Photoshop team hates me. A few days ago, I upgraded from Photoshop 5.5 to 6.

I have in my hands two CDs. The PS 5.5 CD, and the PS 6.0 upgrade CD. I insert the 6 CD, and run the installer. It says that it needs to see a previous version's CD, and that I can eject the 6 CD temporarily.

So I click the eject button, and out pops the 6 CD. I start shuffling around the CDs, getting the 5 CD, when I realize that on the screen is the disk-switch dialog, telling me to reinsert the 6 CD.

I thought that I was rid of this stupid switching deal when I stopped booting from floppies. Oh, well. So I reinserted the 6 CD. It read it, the Finder un-grayed all the icons, and the 6 CD didn't show up in the disk list. So I clicked on the cancel button and then the reinstall button to get the disc list back.

The 6 CD was again in the list of discs. So I tried to eject it, and once again I was forced to reinsert it.

I did that for about twenty minutes before deciding that I'd had enough. I realized that I needed two CD-ROM drives. I knew how to do that.

So I put the 6 CD into my PowerBook's drive (I'm trying to upgrade Photoshop on my tower). I turn on file sharing, put the 5 CD into the G4's drive, and mount the 6 CD on the G4. I run the upgrader on the G4. It starts up and immediately quits.

I'm not very happy at this point, so I dismount the CD, eject both CDs, put the 6 CD into the G4, copy the 100 meg installer app onto the hard drive, and run it. I put the 5 CD into the drive, and the installer confirmed that it was real. It then asked for the serial number. I put the serial number into the dialog. A second installer window came up, asking where to install. So I gave it the information. It then asked me for the serial number _again_. So I gave it the number again.

So it's half-an-hour into the install process, and it's finally proceeding. Boom. For some reason, it insists that it can't write one of the files it's installing because it's open. But it just created it! So I rebooted, re-ran the installer, put in the serial number twice, and finally got it up and running.

That's why I say that the Photoshop team hates me.

Avi's Journal

Newest Entry

Older Entries

My Website
About Me
Email Me

powered by
DiaryLand

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my journal!
email:


powered by NotifyList.com
< prev next >

·   2002-12-16: A Unicode problem   ·   2002-12-15: Soul affliction   ·   2002-12-15: No power?   ·   2002-12-13: Camera's ready   ·   2002-12-12: Grr...   �