Avi now writes for Driss-A-Blog
2000-10-12, 6:14 PM:

The bugs went away last Friday. Someone must have swept them up or something, since the rain wasn't strong enough to do it. Much better.

I started eating lunches at Hillel all the time instead of pseudorandomly. It's not that expensive, and it's a start. Last week, there were students there, but this week, no one. It's weird when you take a plate, get some food, and then just sit alone at a table in a big room, all empty. Yes, then I don't feel so guilty for doing the Daily's crossword puzzle, but I'd like to have someone to talk to.

Not that I'd be able to... Yesterday, there was some girl who came in, started eating and was studying something in a notebook. One of the women who works in the offices upstairs was there, and called the girl Avital. But after the woman left, I couldn't figure out what to do, so I just kept eating and fiddling with the crossword. Eventually I did ask her what she was studying. "Oh, biology," she said. And that was it. I couldn't figure out how to take the conversation from there. Maybe just saying _something_ was a start. Dunno.

And then, of course, five minutes later, driving back to work, is when something to say hits you.

Anyway, work is the usual. I finished with Stylesheet Admin, so I was blocked yet again. So now I'm getting to work on Photoshop. It's nothing like InDesign. InDesign's API is large but elegant. Photoshop has strictly-regimented roles about what plug-ins can do, and they live in different parts of the menu hierarchy. I'm still fumbling. But I do have the about box working. Two callbacks, rather than writing event handlers. I do like some things about it.

I've been catching Mincha/Maariv at Hillel for a few days. Often, there's a bit of a difficulty finding a minyan, but that's nothing new. The one thing that is happening is that I'm starting to wonder again about moving to Ann Arbor. Not for any of the cultural stuff, but just to hang out. I need to find people. Is Ann Arbor the place?

Avi's Journal

Newest Entry

Older Entries

My Website
About Me
Email Me

powered by
DiaryLand

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my journal!
email:


powered by NotifyList.com
< prev next >

·   2002-12-16: A Unicode problem   ·   2002-12-15: Soul affliction   ·   2002-12-15: No power?   ·   2002-12-13: Camera's ready   ·   2002-12-12: Grr...   �