Avi now writes for Driss-A-Blog
2000-09-18, 8:03 PM:

Welcome to the Twilight Zone... (cue appropriate music)

I'm meeting Mom after she's done teaching at Beth Shalom. Mom needs to make a meeting after class, so Ari and I go ahead to Taste of Class and order for Mom.

At Taste is a bridal shower. It takes up most of the restaurant, but there are a few tables in the back that aren't taken, and the staff says they're open, so I take a seat. Ari and I order, and we wait and talk.

I'm facing the party; Ari is facing me. It's a party with plenty of Orthodox Jewish girls about the right age, so I'm looking around. I see someone, cute, and somehow vaguely familiar-looking. I can't place her.

They start opening presents, and among the towels and dustbusters there was a present from Alissa Z. The girl turns and waves to everyone. Alissa Z is her name. That name's rather familiar.

I let it stew for a while. Mom came, and we started eating. But this was bugging me. Where had I heard the name before? Where had I seen her before? I flipped open my Newton, opened Names, and scrolled down to Z. There, the last entry in there. There it was. Her name, a street address (no city), and two home phone numbers. I vaguely remember having directions to the house at one time, but I wasn't sure if I'd ever been there. Is that where I knew her from?

I couldn't hold it in, and I told this to Mom and Ari. They were both facing me, and they turned to look. I tried to describe Alissa, and they saw her. Not familiar to them. I started to remember where that entry came from. I think it was a tutoring job that fell through. I still don't remember if I went to the house or not.

Mom insists that she saw Alissa looking at me. Repeatedly. I didn't see her look my way once.

But where did I see her before? The Newton says that the entry was last modified 11/24/98. It's certainly been less that two years, but I can't place it anywhere...

doo doo doo doo... doo doo doo doo...

Avi's Journal

Newest Entry

Older Entries

My Website
About Me
Email Me

powered by
DiaryLand

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my journal!
email:


powered by NotifyList.com
< prev next >

·   2002-12-16: A Unicode problem   ·   2002-12-15: Soul affliction   ·   2002-12-15: No power?   ·   2002-12-13: Camera's ready   ·   2002-12-12: Grr...   �