Avi now writes for Driss-A-Blog
2002-11-25, 10:06 PM:

Today, I was thinking about how my new DVD player plays VCD and SVCD discs, and so I decided to make some. I took some MPEG 2 files and made the discs. I was so anxious to get home and try them out. They all failed.

A few months ago, I got a deal on a 100-spindle of Imation CD-R blanks. After these SVCDs failed, I'm starting to think they're all bad. I sent in a note to their tech support:

I bought a 100-spindle of Imation CD-R discs. I've burned about a dozen and a half of them. The number of successful burns has been zero.

The burns complete successfully, but fail to read in any drive I test them in. They fail to read in my PowerBook's DVD-ROM drive. They fail to read in my PC's CD-ROM and CD-RW drives. They fail to read in my DVD player's drive. Half the time they fail to read in the drive they were burned in.

The burner that I use had no problems burning Maxell and generic CD-R discs. The PowerBook and PC drives had no problems reading those Maxell and generic discs once burned. The Maxell and generics were 80-minutes, so that's not the problem.

Either I got the product of an incredibly bad run of discs, or all Imation discs are of this poor quality. I don't know what to ask. I'd ordinarily ask for replacements, but if all Imation discs are this terrible, then I'll just ask for a refund.

But I'm really bummed. I'm going to have to try this again tomorrow, but then I'm going to be busy packing for the New York trip for the wedding. Grrr...

Avi's Journal

Newest Entry

Older Entries

My Website
About Me
Email Me

powered by
DiaryLand

Join my Notify List and get email when I update my journal!
email:


powered by NotifyList.com
< prev next >

·   2002-12-16: A Unicode problem   ·   2002-12-15: Soul affliction   ·   2002-12-15: No power?   ·   2002-12-13: Camera's ready   ·   2002-12-12: Grr...   �